Day 1100 of retirement

Click on a photo below for the slide show. The slide show has the descriptions of each pic below the photos. You can also leave comments in this area.

To view the full size photo in a separate window, go to the bottom right hand corner of the photo info and click on “View full size”. You can download the photo from this window if you wish.

Hi All

Saturday 9th February:

Up to be greeted by a brownout. But the power came back on at 9:00am so all good.

A quiet morning reading was the order of the day. Our quiet simple mornings are numbered so we are going to enjoy them while we can. Once we hit Australia on the 28th of March there will be no more quiet life while we get ourselves established.

Guy was off to Mahjong at midday. I walked into town at 1:00pm and posted the blog at Google IT. I then also walked back home (11km round trip) along the beach in the mid afternoon humidity.

A nice cool shower when I arrived home fixed that. Guy played a late game again and arrived home at midnight ish.

Sunday 10th February:

The Thunder Monster got a wipe over today. She is a little dusty from the roadworks but otherwise all good as we had no rain this week.

At midday I dropped Guy off at Mahjong and I made my way to the Barbarossa for the expat gathering. A small crowd today with six of us in attendance.

I left for home at 4:00pm and dropped in to pick up Guy’s helmet. She wasn’t having a good day and had lost her last few days’ winnings so she came home with me.

I finished reading my 3rd book of the year “Die Trying” by Lee Child (Kindle Book). This is the second book in the Jack Reacher series and another good read about extremists in the USA.

Monday 11th February:

No walk this morning as the HAM members are all busy today.

Ailyn arrived at 10:00am (2-hours late) for Guy’s massage.

I put the rice cooker on at 11:00am just to have a brownout about two minutes after. So no rice for lunch. The power was back on at 3:00pm (4-hour brownout) so rice for dinner was okay.

A leisurely day all round with reading and an afternoon siesta.

Tuesday 12th February:

Market day so we stocked up on some fresh produce for the next few days. The mangoes are very sweet at the moment.

Guy was off to Mahjong at midday and at 1:00pm I walked into Google IT for some Wi-Fi. At 4:00pm I dropped in to see Guy at Mahjong. She was close to finishing for the day and was catching a ride home with Vicki.

I continued my walk and got about a third of the way home when Vicki and Guy caught up with me. As it was pretty hot and humid I caught a ride for the rest of the way home.

I finished reading my 4th book of the year “Tripwire : Jack Reacher” by Lee Child (Kindle Book). This is the third book in the Jack Reacher series and another good murder mystery with a twist.

Wednesday 13th February:

A nervous morning as when I turned on my MacBook it indicated that there was no battery present (I put a new one in from iFixit back in December 2012). When you unplugged the power supply the MacBook would die. I reset the PMU and nothing. But it worked okay while plugged in.

Guy needed to send some money to Jordan so we rode into Google IT and got it transferred with the MacBook plugged in.

We then tried to printout the instructions for a battery change (an internal job) as I was going to put the old battery back in. Google IT’s printers crashed and burned, so we wandered down to another Internet café and got it printed there.

I changed the new battery for the old one and all good. It was charging up okay so the power supply was okay. So I then replaced the new battery back in and it was fine. The MacBook recognized the battery and showed all the stats were okay.

So who knows what it was. Probably a loose connection (worked its way loose) from the battery when we changed it, or just something that got reset when I removed the battery.

And I can’t speak highly enough for the www.iFixit.com toolkit. It has all the tools you need for pretty much any electronic device that has screws and fasteners.

Guy off to Mahjong at midday.

After lunch I played with the MacBook for a while just to be sure all was okay. I did a run back into Google IT and ran it on battery for an hour while on Wi-Fi then back home and connected back up to the charger and it appears to be back to normal (touch wood).

I did some shopping for a few supplies while in town as well.

In the evening I continued to sort out some of the stuff we have here into three piles.

  • Stuff we are leaving on the island with John (Pom) for our return.
  • Stuff to take to Manila next week and will leave there with Beth (Guy’s sister) for our return.
  • Stuff to take to Manila next week and then take back to Australia with us.

Thursday 14th February:

Our 3rd wedding anniversary today, time just went flying by when you are having a splendid time.

Ailyn arrived at 9:30am for my 2-hour massage and very nice it was.

Guy off to Mahjong at midday. 1:00pm I walked into Google IT for some Wi-Fi. Today I was looking at used cars for sale in Canberra on www.carpoint.com.au . We are kind of looking at $5,000 ish, less than 10 years old ish and less than 150,000km ish. There are a few that fit the bill and I reckon that we will get something that fits the bill.

Guy arrived later in the afternoon at Google IT as she had lost her “allowance” at Mahjong, so left for some Wi-Fi at Google IT. We managed to Skype Zali and the gang and see Zali almost crawling. She should be mobile by the time we arrive in 6-weeks ish.

I walked back home and Guy joined me for the last few kms as she caught the Jeepney when she finished her email.

Thursday night is American Idol so we settled in for the show.

Friday 15th February:

Late morning and off to Boac (Capital 24km away) for Guy to see the dentist. Just before we left for AUS back in December 2012 she lost a bit of a tooth round a filling.

The dentist put some temporary filling back in and said come back now and if the tooth is still okay she will repair it with permanent filling. She checked the tooth and all good so on Monday we go back and Guy gets the whole tooth/filling fixed before we come back to AUS. The cost here will be P600 ($15.00 AUS) so just a little bit cheaper than if we wait till AUS and get it done.

Lunch was at Good Chow as they serve good food and it is one of the very few restaurants in Boac that is air-conditioned.

Back home mid afternoon and time to clean out the medical cupboard. There are drugs and medical stuff that we brought over with us, stuff we have purchased here and stuff that visitors have left us.

One thing I noticed is that gels and lotions don’t survive well in the tropics. They separate and go all runny and have a tendency to explode their containers if sealed. The cupboard where the medical stuff was stored in will never have a backache cause a tube of “Anti Inflammatory Gel” had exploded.

Also anything with elastic plaster (Eg: Band-Aids) goes all soft and sticky.

But I managed to sort out what we will give away to the locals and what we will keep for us.

American Idol again tonight. Now down to the top 20 girls and top 20 boys.

I finished reading my 5th book of the year “Running Blind : Jack Reacher” by Lee Child (Kindle Book). This is book 4 in the Reacher series and is the best one so far. A great psychological murder mystery that will have you guessing right up till the very end.

Life is good.

Trevor & Guy

One Response to Day 1100 of retirement

  1. Michael says:

    You’re really powering through the Jack Reacher books. They are all a great read 🙂

Leave a Reply

