Day 3 of retirement working

1195 days of retirement come to a pause.

Click on a photo below for the slide show. The slide show has the descriptions of each pic below the photos. You can also leave comments in this area.

To view the full size photo in a separate window, go to the bottom right hand corner of the photo info and click on “View full size”. You can download the photo from this window if you wish.

Hi All

Saturday 18th May

Jordan had a 1-hour driving lesson before his 11:00am work start. Guy and I each applied for another job on seek.

After lunch, we had our walk up the beach to the bluff and back in the cold afternoon sun and was very enjoyable.

Sunday 19th May:

The Mighty Mazda got a wash / wax and vacuum this morning so she is nice and shiny still…….

After lunch Guy and I were off to the mall to find Guy a plain black work jacket for her next interview on Tuesday. We eventually found one but man everybody is making the fancy colorful jackets now.

The afternoon was spent reviewing jobs. Guy applied for one in Payroll and I applied for 2 in customer services / sale.

The evening was rounded off watching the MotoGP at Le Mans, France. Great to see Dani Pedrosa take the win. The real ride of the race was Marc Marquez who started on Pole, dropped to 8th and came back to 3rd and all on a very wet track.

Monday 20th May:

Off on some cold calling re: jobs this morning. I dropped my Resume into one business but the guy “was too busy” to see me. On to the next business where I met the manager (I had emailed him my resume last night).

When I introduced myself, he asked if I was the guy who was the mountain climber / mountain biker. He had printed my resume and it was “Personal Achievements” that caught his eye (Thanks Alina…).

We had a great chat so we shall see what happens as he said he is getting lots of applications.

Guy got a call re an interview at 2:00pm with her old company. So after lunch I dropped her at Mosman and wandered round till she was finished. Hopefully we shall hear more on this tomorrow.

For dinner I visited our friend Lisa P for pizza and a chat about a business proposition she is working on. We had a great old chat and a good look at her proposition.

Tuesday 21st May:

Mid morning I took Jordan to school to get his homework sorted out and then dropped him at Subway as he was working today.

Back home to some awesome news. Guy got a call from Suttons (Her old employer) and she got the job at Mosman (Yesterday interview). So we were both very please.

Just waiting for the paper work to arrive and then she starts on Monday June 10th. So three weeks to enjoy before back to work.

After lunch we went for a walk along the beach and saw the first Whales of the season frolicking out the back of the surf on Dee Why Beach. A great omen. Ooohhhh and to finish off our walk on the beach a nice rainbow was spotted out to sea.

So one down (Work wise) and one to go (Me).

Wednesday 22nd May:

Well our first cold rainy winter’s day today and it was a bit of a shock to the system after Marinduque.

I was back on the job hunt and applied for another job while Guy relaxed as she now has her job.

Mid afternoon I got a call and the boss at Battery World in Brookvale wanted to have a chat to me at 5:00pm about my job application with them. So at 5:00pm I arrived and we had a good chat about the job, what is expected and the general working conditions.

Following this he has given me a 1-week trial period to work in the shop and at the end of the week either one of us can opt out if required or the job is mine. So I absolutely agreed and I start at 7:30am tomorrow morning for my 1-week probation.

The job sounds interesting as they not only do batteries for everything but solar for vehicles and general automotive electrical accessories. I will be part of a team of 5 (Includes me) from a variety of backgrounds.

The three guys I met were really friendly and the shop had a calm feeling about it. So the next week is the big test but I am looking forward to it.

Thursday 23rd May:

Day 1195 of retirement ends.

Day 1 of retirement working begins.

Up and I walked to work (2.3km) for my 7:30am start on day 1. I almost didn’t make it on time this morning.

I set my alarm but had it set for PM instead of AM. But luckily my internal alarm clock worked and I made it on time but had to skip breakfast.

It was a very brain-expanding day. My head is exploding with information tonight but the team is really great and looked after me.

When it rains it pours. I also got two other interview requests today. Will cancel one but might attend the other one just to see.

Guy had a relaxing day but had to drive in the pouring rain to pick up Jordan from school and get him back home for a driving instructor’s lesson.

Friday 24th May:

Second day at work and I’m feeling a little better tonight. The head is only half spinning.

I cancelled one interview request today (Car Detailer at Mercedes up the road) and am going to the other one next Tuesday (Daiwa Fishing Tackle Service) as it is my day off. I’m going just for the experience.

I work Thursday to Monday with Tuesday & Wednesday off.

Life is good and busy.

Trevor & Guy

One Response to Day 3 of retirement working

  1. MaryMary says:

    Like you, my daughter will be 16 yrs old in Dec. and time for her driving permit. Initially I wanted to teach her to drive stick shift, but then decided to start her off on auto transmission, have her get her driver’s license, then eventually teach her to drive stick.

Leave a Reply

