Day 655 of retirement working

Click on a photo below for the slide show. The slide show has the descriptions of each pic below the photos. You can also leave comments in this area.

To view the full size photo in a separate window, go to the bottom right hand corner of the photo info and click on “View full size”. You can download the photo from this window if you wish.

Hi All

Monday 26th January:

Huge happy Australia Day to you all. It is a great country we live in and lets celebrate that.

Guy and I off to the city to enjoy the festivities but alas it was a drizzly old day and not very pleasant. So we hit the BBQ King for our favorite Peking Duck lunch.

Then back home and settled in for a marathon “Breaking Bad” series afternoon.

Wednesday 11th February:

Off to the city (The Rocks) today looking for a special gift. As it is our 5th wedding anniversary on Saturday (Yes Valentines Day) and the traditional object is “Wood”.

I have seen this shop in the rocks before that has Australian timber bowls and small containers. I found the shop and they had the small bowl that I was after.

It is made from Mallee stump. Now, when I was a kid back in Cummins (SA) on Dad’s farm, one of my jobs was to collect all the mallee stumps in the paddocks. Dad would then bring them back home and I then had to chop them into small bits so Mum could use them in the wood stove in the kitchen (Yes pre electric stoves).

I always remember chopping the stumps and admiring the unique grain pattern of the mallee stumps. So Guy’s 5th wedding anniversary present has a bit of the old me in it.

Saturday 14th February:

Well 5 years ago today, Guy and I were married. I gave Guy her special mallee bowl for our “wood” anniversary (5th year).

It has been an amazing adventure in the last 10 years (I courted her for 5 years before getting married). And as we have discovered, life began again at 50 ish for us both. So many adventures and so many more to come. Bring it on……

A few weeks ago on a Sunday I helped a guy with a very dead battery. He was a bit down on his luck so I lent him a battery and he assured me he would be back to pay in a week or two.

Well today, good to his word, he came in and paid for the battery and even gave me a bottle of red wine for helping him out.

Good karma all round……. 🙂

Saturday 7th March:

Guy picked me up after work and after a quick shower we were off to the 50th birthday party for the real “Ian Thorpe”. No, not the swimmer but the bush walker Ian Thorpe.

I met Ian when I moved to Sydney many years ago on a Sydney Bush Walkers walk. We had many a bushwalk back in them there mountains over the years.

It was great to catch up with Ian and Ross as we haven’t seen them for a year or two.

Life is good.

Trevor & Guy

2 Responses to Day 655 of retirement working

  1. Pauline Sims says:

    Thinking of you both enjoying your Peking Duck, I so want to go back there when in Sydney next, take care xxxx

  2. Margaret St Hill says:

    Some of your best pics yet. Wonderful. Have a great weekend

    Date: Tue, 10 Mar 2015 10:35:07 +0000 To: margsthill@hotmail.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.